Of Wheel Bearings and Spiritual Check Ups

6953979“Your left wheel bearing is going Don.”  My friend Jean Luc borrowed my car the other day.  It surprised me, “Really?” I said.   I had never noticed the sound, I must have gotten used to it.   Jean Luc’s keen ear picked up right away.  What was obvious to him, I had missed completely.

Never underestimate the value of fresh spiritual perspective either.  The other day, I introduced a man I have been discipling to another godly friend of mine.  We sat down together and Raja listen and spoke at length with him.  Raja perceived, a spiritual struggle in my friend that I had missed. It was obvious once he pointed it out, but I had missed it.  My friend was relying on his feelings and emotions to judge his spiritual vitality.  Raja set about to  help extricate him from that roller coaster and plant his feet upon faith, God’s word and His promises.

file0001061938683When you’re close to a situation and have been for long while, great blessing comes from inviting discerning, Spirit-filled brothers into your life for a checkup.   They listen,  and call attention to neglected areas of our lives.    There are very likely “bad wheel bearings” in your life that you’re not hearing. Your brother can help. Is your desire that Christ be glorified in you at any cost? Well, this may cost you some pride.  Friend, avail yourself of proven Spirit-filled men and women who have ears to hear and eyes to see.   It takes a courageous and humble person to invite such scrutiny.

One response to “Of Wheel Bearings and Spiritual Check Ups

  1. Even wheel bearings need such lubrication…
    Psalm 133King James Version (KJV)

    133 Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity!
    2 It is like the precious ointment upon the head, that ran down upon the beard, even Aaron’s beard: that went down to the skirts of his garments;
    3 As the dew of Hermon, and as the dew that descended upon the mountains of Zion: for there the Lord commanded the blessing, even life for evermore.

Leave a Reply

